Walker Transit is public transportation designed to take you on errands and to appointments, such as a visit to the doctor or grocery shopping.
Hours of Operation: We operate service Monday through Friday between 6:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. Saturday service concluded on November 5, 2022.
Reservations: Reservations can be made by calling (706) 375-0803. Reservations must be made at least one day prior to a trip. Please have the exact street address of your destination available to give to the dispatcher. When scheduling a return trip, simply call the Transit Office when you are ready to be picked up and a vehicle will be dispatched to you.
Call Back List: If you are on the call back list, you must be ready and call the office by 3:00 p.m. for your return ride if your are outside of the county and 6:00 p.m. within the county.
Fares: Passengers will only be permitted to board the bus by paying a $4.00 fare per trip before taking their seat. Passengers who have scheduled a return trip will only be permitted to board the bus by paying the $4.00 fare. Please have the exact amount ready at boarding.
ADA: Reasonable modifications in policies, practices or procedures are available to avoid discrimination on the basis of disability. Riders can make this request by calling (706) 375-0803 or using the Georgia Relay Service: 711. Accessible formats of Walker Transit materials are also available upon request.
Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) permit persons with a hearing or speech disability to use the telephone system via a text telephone (TTY) or other device to call persons with or without such disabilities.
To make using TRS as simple as possible, dial 711 to be automatically connected to a TRS communications assistant. Dialing 711 allows both voice and TTY-based TRS users to initiate a call from any telephone, anywhere in the United States, without having to remember and dial a ten-digit access number.
Georgia Relay can be used for contacting Walker Transit for any purpose, including booking, eligibility, or customer comments.
Mobility Device: Walker Transit will provide mobility device accommodation provided the device does not exceed the following dimensions: 30-inches in width, 48-inches in length and the weight of the chair, when occupied, does not exceed 1,000-pounds. All riders must have their mobility device secured while aboard Walker Transit vehicles. Service will be declined to a rider who refuses to allow his or her mobility device to be secured.
Reasonable Accommodation (modification of policies and practices):
Walker Transit will make reasonable modifications to policies, practices or procedures when the modifications are necessary to avoid discrimination on the basis of disability or to provide program accessibility to its services, subject to the limitations of Federal Regulations § 37.169(c)(1)–(3). Individuals requesting modifications to Walker Transit service shall contact the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator and describe what they need in order to use the service. Individuals requesting modifications are not required to use the term “reasonable modification” when making a request.
Walker Transit is public transportation and not a private taxi service. We have established certain policies in order to provide safe and timely transport.
In order to operate efficiently, there will be other passengers on board and we may not always be able to transport you immediately to your destination. If you would like a copy of our complete policies & procedures, please contact our office.
- Clients must reside in Walker County.
- Clients must provide a working phone number or emergency contact.
- Office hours are 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
- Riders are required to pay the fare upon boarding the vehicle unless other arrangements have been made with management.
- Riders are required to use a seat belt while on the transit vehicle.
- Riders should be ready 20 minutes ahead of scheduled pick-up time.
- Shoppers are limited to packages that they are able to carry.
- Drivers are not under any circumstances to enter a client’s home.
- If a passenger is not ready upon bus arrival, driver will only wait 5 minutes before reporting the client as a no-show and continuing on to the next appointment.
- Excessive late cancellations or no shows will result in the temporary suspension of service. For example: 7 days for the first offense, 14 days for the second offense, 21 days for the third offense, 30 days for subsequent offenses.
- Walker Transit is a curb-to-curb service. Drivers are not required to assist passengers beyond this point. Clients must be able to get to and from the bus.
- Clients may be banned from the bus for the following without any notification:
- Swearing, cursing or inappropriate language.
- Bringing weapons on board.
- Threatening a driver or other passenger.
- Exposing a driver or passenger to bodily fluids.
- Intoxication from drugs and/or alcohol.
- Refusal to adhere to policies.
Walker County is an Equal Opportunity Employer. Job offers are always contingent on a successful drug screening and background check.