The Board of Commissioners is the governing authority of Walker County. There are four district commissioners and an at-large chairperson.  Along with presiding over meetings, the chairperson administers the affairs and day to day business of the county.

The Board meets at 7:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Thursday of each month at Courthouse Annex III, 201 S Main Street in LaFayette. Click here to see the latest meeting agenda. The calendar is adjusted in November and December due to holidays.

District 1 & 2 Commissioners serve an initial two-year term, while the District 3 & 4 Commissioners and the Chairperson serve four-year terms.  After 2022, all commissioner seats will become four-year terms.  This means every two years, two of the district commissioner positions will be on the ballot.

Which district are you in? Click here to view a large version of the map.

Read the state legislation that changed Walker County’s form of government from a Sole Commissioner to a Board of Commissioners.

Read about the transition process from a Sole Commissioner to a Board of Commissioners.