Commissioner-Whitfield-HeadshotThe Governing Body of Walker County, Georgia is responsible for helping county departments carry out their day to day operations. These departments include public works, finance, administration, purchasing, fire, rescue, emergency management, planning, economic development and public health and welfare, among others. The Governing Body staff helps the Chair of the Board of Commissioners carry out these functions.

Shannon Whitfield serves as Chair of the Board of Commissioners. He was elected to a four-year term that began January 1, 2021.



* Accounts Payable Clerk, Paulette Crowe
* Accounts Receivable Clerk, Tina Stoker
* Accountant, Angie Buettner
* Board Clerk, Whitney Summey
* Communications Specialist, Dakiya Porter
* County Clerk,
* Economic Development Director, Stephanie Watkins
* Finance Officer, Greg McConnell
* County Attorney / Legal & Policy Director, David Gottlieb
* Human Resources Manager Angie Teems
* Human Resources / Payroll / Employee Benefits Clerk, Tabitha Cantrell
* Public Relations Director, Joe Legge
* Receptionist, Valerie Baker
* Chairman, Shannon Whitfield

101 South Duke Street
P.O. Box 445
LaFayette, GA  30728
706-638-1437 Office
706-638-1453 Fax

Departments and services supervised by the Chair of the Board of Commissioners:


Return to Government