The following occurred at this meeting: Walker County Fire Rescue - Life Saving Award presentation Veterans Day Proclamation Discussion on a CN to C-1 rezone request Resolution to urge the state to continue efforts to reform mental health services Resolution to ratify the Executive Order initiating a 45 day burn ban Cell Tower application October … Continue reading Board of Commissioners Meeting Audio – 11-9-23
Voters approve a new TSPLOST, the county enacts a 45-day burn ban and the Animal Shelter reaches "no kill" status... all ahead in this month's edition of Walker 180. SUBSCRIBE to our YOUTUBE channel to watch this video. http://walkercountyga.gov/tag/podcast/feed
Walker County Chairman Shannon Whitfield issued a burn ban for the county today, as extremely dry conditions continue to pose the threat of large, dangerous wildfires, as well as create an environment for residential debris burns to escape and spread out of control. The burn ban takes effect today, November 4, and runs for 45 … Continue reading Burn Ban Issued for Walker County
LaFayette, GA – Beginning October 1, Walker County residents will no longer need to contact Georgia Forestry to obtain a permit to burn small piles of natural vegetation and yard debris. A new law eliminates the notification requirement before burning things like twigs and small tree limbs, leaves, brush and grass clippings. Changes to the … Continue reading How Georgia’s New Burn Law Impacts Walker County Residents
LaFayette, GA - The Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) has agreed to temporarily modify the seasonal burn ban for Walker, Catoosa, Chattooga and four other counties. Burning of trees, brush and stumps will now be allowed through May 31, 2020. The move follows requests from Walker County Government, State Senator Jeff Mullis and others for … Continue reading Seasonal Burn Ban Delayed until June 1st for Walker County
With the arrival of October, Georgia’s seasonal burn ban, which impacts Walker and 53 other counties, comes to a close. While burning is allowed from October 1st through April 30th, residents need to obtain a permit and be aware of what is legal and illegal to burn.